Friday, 22 April 2016

Album Review: Martyr - "You Are Next" - Reviewed by: Geoff McGraw

Title: You Are Next
Date of Release: 2016
Record Label: Pure Steel/Limelight
Genre: Power/Thrash

Reviewed by: Geoff McGraw

Track listings: 1. Into The Darkest Of All Realms 2. Infinity 3. Inch By Inch 4. Souls Breathe 5. Unborn Evil 6. Monsters 7. Crawl 8. Mother's Tear 9. In The End 
10. Don't Need Your Money

Martyr has been around for 24 years, (off and on) having released their 1st demo in 1982 and their latest release now in 2016.

Martyr's "You Are Next" deftly blends elements of traditional metal, power metal, and thrash together to drop a truly headbanging cd on us. Full of thunderous and galloping riffs, the guitar and bass work is excellent. The drums bludgeon in the best possible way, accenting and supporting the riffs and keep your head moving. Vocalist Rop van Haren provides well written lines that don't have to follow the riffs, he sings over the music in the fashion of truly great singers that can keep my interest, using traditional metal vocals as well as getting gruff when needed.

The album runs strong from beginning to end with really nary a weak point. It grabbed my interest right away, and by the time "Inch By Inch" hit my headphones I was sold. It is not often that an album literally makes me feel like I did when I was a kid. As a special bonus to Raven fans, Martyr covers "Don't Need Your Money" as the last track, bringing this romp through metal goodness to a close! Even if you aren't previously familiar this band from the Netherlands, with not a bad track, I recommend adding this album to your collection.

Btw The Album cover art is great, something that in the days of NWOBHM would have had many of us snapping up the album unheard.
Two Big Horns up and a whole bunch more as a rating.

9 out of 10 horns

No comments:

Post a Comment